PDA

View Full Version : black supra - with dreaded swirls! NEED HELP

Pages : [1] 2 3

giama
03-08-2007, 07:39 AM
PICS ADDED ON PAGE 2

hello guys, im a noob so bare with me please.

i have a 1996 black supra(202 colour code) and i have swirls which are very noticeablke in the sun and also what seems to be buff lines from the previous owner.

up until now i have used meguiars 3 stage kit in which i did the following

- wash car. then meguiars claybar

- meguiars paint cleaner

- meaguiars deep crystal polish

- meguiars carnauba wax

- meguiars tech wax

i did all of this once by hand and the car looked very new new and spotless. however after 1 month and washing it every week it seems to have gone back to square 1 = showing swirls. i think its time i used a PC 7424 to try to get out the swirls.

i have been using meguiars tech wax to hide the swirls but after 1 wash it comes off and im sick of waxing it every 1-2 weeks as its only masking the problem despite looking good when freshly applied.

i have measured the paint thickness and it ranges from 12mm to 18mm all over the car.

my questions are:

1) should i buy the perfect shine kit which consists of sonus products and klasse all in 1?

2) is this kit equal in quality to the meguairs products ive used. or will it produce better results using machine application with PC?

3) is it worth adding the klasse high gloss sealant glaze to use after the klasses all in 1 and before the final coat of p21s carnauba wax?

4) should i look to a range of other products like zaino or(whatever else people highly rate) or is sonus good enough!

5)when i purchase the PC 7424, what pads and bonnets should i buy for it? the perfect shine kit consists of sfx-1 and sfx-2 which are abbrasive and i have no idea what bonnets/pads etc to use and in which order, how many coats etc?