PDA

View Full Version : Total newbie - clay, etc

Pages : [1] 2

lvalesko
02-25-2007, 11:39 PM
I`d never even heard of clay until a few weeks ago!

Running my hand over my truck felt like rubbing against 320 grit sandpaper. :-(

I bought some Clay Magic and just finished claying and waxing the hood of my white 1996 F150 and I can`t believe the difference - WOW!

I have a few questions... while the clay removed about 80% of the gunk there is still some specks I can see and feel. Do I need to do it again or maybe use a different grade of clay?

Also there are marks like oily fingerprints around the edge of the hood from past mechanics and nothing seems to remove them - it`s like they`re etched into the paint. How can I remove those?

I washed then clayed and then waxed... did I miss any steps? The white just doesn`t seem as brilliant as it did when the truck was new... am I too late in my detailing endeavor??

Thanks!

Lori

Envious Eric
02-26-2007, 04:01 AM
polish bud....you missed polishing....

polish brings out the luster/shine in the paint, wax adds a little looks, but more protection than anything else

chutney
02-26-2007, 06:10 AM
polish bud....you missed polishing....

polish brings out the luster/shine in the paint, wax adds a little looks, but more protection than anything else

I second that. Preparation is at least 90% of the result. Probably there will be some oxidation of the paint.

A good place to start is the detailing guide on this foorum :

http://autopia.org/forum/guide-detailing/

You can also do a search in the Click&Brag section with following words : white oxidation ... and see the process others applied successfully.

By the way Welcome to Autopia.

:welcome

lvalesko
02-26-2007, 10:08 AM
Thanks guys!

So will polish remove the leftover speck and bumps as well as the etched in fingerprints and stains??

What should I do now... wash, re-clay then polish and wax??

Will any polish work?

Thanks,

Lori :-)

a.k.a. Patrick
02-26-2007, 10:33 AM