PDA

View Full Version : In need on Polish...Buy PC or Hire Detailer?

Basshog
01-17-2007, 04:30 PM
My Black truck is going to be in need of a light polish to remove some swirls that I have acquired (acquiring) and I am in debate of buying a PC and the proper supplies to do it myself. However, I am not sure how much all of this would cost. I am a college student and on a small budget and want to do what is most cost effective (short term? long term?). How much would it cost to have a GOOD detailer polish my truck? I would prep my vehicle prior and wax it after so the detailer would really only need to polish and seal it.

My questions are:

1) How much would it cost for a PC and the neccesary supplies?

2) How much would it cost for my truck to be polished by a detailer (no wash/wax)?

sixty7mustang22
01-17-2007, 04:42 PM
It would almost if not cost the same for the detail as it would for yout to buy the PC.

You can get a good starter kit for around $200 with everything you need from AutoGeek. You would probably pay a good detailer $175 to $250 for a exterior polish.

I would get the PC and learn to do it myself. That way, you could do it to your car when it needs a good polish later and you could also make a little extra money.

It is up to you what you want though.

Envious Eric
01-17-2007, 04:57 PM
pc - around 90 bucks

get a few pads - $10 each

get some good polish - optimum line = 30 bucks...

a few MF towels - 10 bucks

a good wax of choice - ?

total - 160+....

pay someone else to fix your truck, and then 6 months to a year later do it again = 300 a year. The polish and pads and PC and wax will easily last you over 4 years if you did it every 4 months....thats something to think about

BlueZero
01-17-2007, 05:10 PM
I was in the same place last spring. I got a few prices to have it done. It was about the same as buying everything I needed to do it myself. Plus as toyotaguy stated, you can do it again whenever it needs it.

Juztang
01-17-2007, 05:18 PM