PDA

View Full Version : Porsche Black Paint

Tommy W.
12-22-2006, 11:26 AM
After listining to all the experts (many!) on this site I decided to machine polish my 02 Turbo (black).

bought a PC and the Sonus pad kit. Zaino z-pc was the choice for a polish.

Car has 5,000 mi on it but has some nice swirls .

Is the clearcoat on this car fairly heavy? Anything to worry about?

Thanks for any input!

I have a lot of experience on a rotary, just not on cars! So I figure I`ll be safe with a PC.

Merry Christmas. I hope Santa Brings everyone their favorite detailing products.

TW

imported_doctordon
12-22-2006, 12:34 PM
Tommy: What year is the car? Sat outside? Lotsa P-cars (mine for one) don`t get more than a couple of thousand annually, or sit out. I`d venture that P-cars have always had ample paint. I have an 01 and 05 and they both appear to have a pretty heavy load of CC. Whereas my daily driver, a Ford Escape, escaped the St Louis plant with a misting of paint. No complaints: just reality ... and just enough to cover primer.

ji m

Statman
12-22-2006, 01:43 PM
You will have no problem with the PC and Zaino...it will look great!

imported_Dave KG
12-22-2006, 02:09 PM
Have done a couple of 911s with black paint in the past couple of months, and the paint thickness gauge shows that they had a good caot of paint, certainly up to the normal average for cars at around the 120 -150um mark. So by PC, you`ll be safe with the majority of polishes out there.