PDA

View Full Version : Road Tar Mess

autobritemike
11-29-2006, 04:44 PM
Hey Guys,

I am a new user to this site. I have been working in the detail business for 16 years, and have seen just about everything.

I had a Lincoln Mark VIII in the shop this week that had a form of road tar that i have never seen before, and the customer must have left it on the vehicle for at least a year because it was as hard as epoxy, in fact I can`t completely rule out that it was in fact something other than road tar.

It was dark brown in color and was sprayed behind the tires front and rear. It was completely hard, Road tar is usually Soft, especially when hit with a solvent.

I tried every single product i have in the shop. I started simple with kerosene then mineral spirits then naphtha. That didn`t work so i progressed to more aggressive solvents including acetone and laquer thinner. The thinner had an effect, but required too much harsh rubbing and would damage the paint.

After using solvents, i tried the blue and red clay from Clay magic...no luck. I tried scraping it off with plastic razor blades, once again this sort of worked but require a lot of pressure and was damaging to the paint.

Through a combination of clay, laquer thinner, plastic razor blades and some serious buffing I was able to remove it from the rear fender, but it took 3 hours for that panel alone.

Has anyone ever encountered anything like this?

Mike

Autobrite Car Care Center

derek37
11-30-2006, 01:32 AM
sorry not I. Maybe an undercoating of some kind.

BobD
11-30-2006, 07:21 AM
It might actually be epoxy. They sometimes use some sort of an epoxy/glue to glue down road stripes and markings instead of paint them on.

p.s. Welcome to the site.

autobritemike
11-30-2006, 08:46 AM