PDA

View Full Version : swirl marks

glenn22
11-11-2006, 10:36 PM
I have a 2007 Mazda CX-7, it`s about 1 month old. Since it`s black, every flaw shows up in the paint. After several washings there are definite swirl marks visible in direct light (sun, spot light, etc). I am wondering what I can do to at least reduce these short of using a rotary polisher. I have a 2600 random orbital polisher/waxer and have tried meguiars deep crystal paint cleaner, polish, and scratchx, followed by nxt tech wax.... when shining my spot light on the section I used the products on, I can`t really tell much difference as compared to the section that was untreated...... Any suggestions for a total noob?

ZaneO
11-11-2006, 11:07 PM
First off, it sounds like you need to modify your washing/drying techniques and/or supplies. Through careful maintenance, one can greatly reduce the possibility of marring. Sheepskin mitts, boar`s hair brushes, two buckets, foam guns, leaf blowers, quality microfibers, etc. are all good thing to look into.

Since you already have some marring, you`ll need a good (abrasive) paint polish or two to deal with the issues. There are a plethora of good options depending on your method of application, preference of purchasing, etc.

glenn22
11-11-2006, 11:12 PM
First off, it sounds like you need to modify your washing/drying techniques and/or supplies. Through careful maintenance, one can greatly reduce the possibility of marring. Sheepskin mitts, boar`s hair brushes, two buckets, foam guns, leaf blowers, quality microfibers, etc. are all good thing to look into.

Since you already have some marring, you`ll need a good (abrasive) paint polish or two to deal with the issues. There are a plethora of good options depending on your method of application, preference of purchasing, etc.