PDA

View Full Version : Need some advice

hwoarang
11-05-2006, 02:59 PM
Hello...I`m a total noob and got suckered into the "touch of class" sealant package from the Lexus dealership when I purchased my IS350 a couple months ago..... I believe they told me it was a LIFETIME warranty so that`s the main reason I got suckered into it.

Now when I researched the forums I hear that it`s just another coat of wax that has to be reapplied every year? I am wondering what I should do? Try to get my money back for the touch of class? And I would love to Zaino my car but can I put it over the "touch of class"?

fdizzle
11-05-2006, 05:22 PM
a sealant is a sealant . . . like anything else . . .

though there are countless threads on this already, ill fill you in . . .

Perma Plate, Touch of CLass, and many others, are sealants offered by dealerships who claim they can last for 5 years all the way to the lifetime of the car.

If there were anything that lasted that long, it would be, in reality, another coat of clear paint on your finish . . . .

outside contaminents, car washes (machine or hand) systematically break down LSPs (liquid surface protectants)

if you want to maintain you car correctly, Personally I would use a mild clay on the vehicle, strip anything the "dealer" put on by usinga 50/50 mix of distilled water and rubbing alcohol, doing a mild polish to eliminate any marring or spider web swirils that may have shown up, and then applying a sealant of your choice. . . . (klasse, jeff`s werkstatt, wolfgang, poor boys world, chemical guys)

carnuba wax products like pinnacle souveran or sig. series, p21s, collinite and poorboys world natty`s paste waxes offer incredible depth and clarity to your finish, but as you may be aware carnubas do not last anywhere near as long as a sealant . . .