PDA

View Full Version : Help! Consumer Report results on waxes!

Pages : [1] 2 3

Nacho_Z71
11-01-2006, 05:23 PM
Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting but I have been lurking on this site for many months now. I have a few vehicles that I LOVE to detail on a monthly basis. I have always been an avid Meguiar`s user (#7 mirror glaze polish and #26 yellow wax). I used to love the Gold Class products but have been happy with the products above. ANyway, I recently did a search on car waxes because I have been curious to see what other people had to say. I ran across this link which basically states the recent results from Consumert Reports. They basically ranked Black Magic and Turtle Wax T-6 as #1. I read how they actually performed the tests with weathering techniques and water beading.

Anyway, here is the link: http://www.chathamjournal.com/weekly/living/autos/cr-rates-car-waxes-60626.shtml

I would like to know ya`lls opinions. has anyone ever used those products? Are they good? I am not trying to start any type of flame wars or anything. I just want the best protection possible with the best looking results.

fdizzle
11-01-2006, 05:28 PM
Mirror Glaze products are superior to those mentioned in the reports, and are not included in CS teats. They mainly test popular OTC products . . . Stick with what you use now, many autopians are avid Mirror Glaze fans, gold class paste and NXT gen waxes are also very popular here . . .

Anyone feel free to disagree with me here . . .

neonecko
11-01-2006, 05:29 PM
eww OTC waxes

Bigpoppa3346
11-01-2006, 05:33 PM
eww OTC waxes

What is wrong with OTC waxes? Just because you don`t have to pay shipping costs and order online to get it doesn`t mean they aren`t good. Ever tried Collinite 845? One of the best looking LSP`s for light metallics there is, IMO, and durability would put 95% of most "boutique" products to shame. What about Mothers? I hear good things about them all the time. Meg`s has some decent OTC stuff too.