PDA

View Full Version : Please Advise... New Paint

Imatk
09-28-2006, 10:28 PM
So I just got my car painted. There are a lot of swirl marks where the bodyshop buffed it and I want to get the car buffed to get rid of those marks.

I got a quote for $250 which I`m perfectly willing to pay. But my question is would I be better to get a polisher and do this myself?

I`m a little worried about doing this on new paint... especially having never done it before. But I HAVE been waxing / detailing cars for many years... just never buffed a car before.

So what do you guys think? Leave it to a pro or try to do it myself?

Thanks for any input.

Dan
09-28-2006, 10:40 PM
So I just got my car painted. There are a lot of swirl marks where the bodyshop buffed it and I want to get the car buffed to get rid of those marks.

I got a quote for $250 which I`m perfectly willing to pay. But my question is would I be better to get a polisher and do this myself?

I`m a little worried about doing this on new paint... especially having never done it before. But I HAVE been waxing / detailing cars for many years... just never buffed a car before.

So what do you guys think? Leave it to a pro or try to do it myself?

Thanks for any input.

Well, if you trust the person to do a good job, then $250 is much cheaper than ruining a new paint job. If you aren`t sure, have the detailer do a sample section and leave it be for a week or so (wash it or let rain hit it for a while) to see if they are using something with fillers or actually doing a good job. I`d pratice on something else before I tried myself.

Accumulator
09-29-2006, 11:22 AM
Note that new paint is often very soft, it`ll harden up over the next few weeks/months. This can be good or bad depending on what you want and how hard/soft the paint is/becomes.

Note also that there are a lot of lousy "pros" out there who will make things worse instead of better.