PDA

View Full Version : detailing advise

socommatthews
09-19-2006, 08:26 PM
hi guys hows it goin.im a newbie to this forum so forgive my ignorance.ive done a search and didnt really find anything so here i go.any help is greatly appreciated.

alright right now i usually wash,clay bar,then put on a coat of TR-3 resin.now the resin protects great.for ex. ive got a 1" spot on my hood were a bird **** and it left a spot after baking in the sun but the same thing happened after using the TR-3 and it just wiped off.but im concerned now because im not sure the resin is clear coat safe so id rather not use it anymore so i wanted to know what would give me good protection?i bought some Meguires #26 high tech yellow wax,is that any good?on sat. i plan on washing,using Meguires paint cleaner, turtle wax polish,and the #29 but do i need to do anything to get the TR-3 off?i was just going to wash w/dawn unless anybody has any suggestions.sorry for the long post(and yes i have an orbital buffer)

Accumulator
09-20-2006, 10:48 AM
socommatthews- Welcome to Autopia!

I haven`t thought about TR-3 for ages, a friend of mine swore by it back in the `70s. I absolutely would *NOT* worry about it being clearcoat safe. If it`s working for you I`d just keep using it. Autoglym`s Super Resin Polish is something I use all the time and it works great on clearcoats. Resins in polishes won`t hurt anything. I dunno if it contains any abrasives that you oughta be worried about, but I somehow doubt it. What I`d do is use it sparingly and put a wax over top of it, then just redo the wax from time to time.

Meg`s #26 is a nice OTC wax, gives great depth and darkening/richening on colors like black and red. But it`s not known for great durability and I dunno how well it`ll protect either. A better choice would be a wax like 476S or 845 (both from Collinite) which are known for their protective abilities and their durability.