PDA

View Full Version : First time using PC - advice

EnhanceSS
09-04-2006, 07:47 PM
First of all, this is my first time posting, but i`ve been lurking for quite a while. I own a red `05 Cobalt SS and I feel i have taken good care of it. That being said, I`ve started to notice a moderate amount of swirls so I`ve bought the Sonus SFX PC kit off autopia.

Here are some (very bad) pictures of my paint condition.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v506/Enahnce/swirls1.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v506/Enahnce/swirls2.jpg

and some sureface scratches on the hood

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v506/Enahnce/sscratch.jpg

I`d like to apologize for the quality of the pictures, my good camera is on the other side of the world atm :(

here is the detailing process i worked out for myself

wash - dawn

clay - megs quik clay

wash - megs deep crystal

polish - sfx-1 hood/trunk (surface scratches)

polsih - sfx-2 entire car

polish - sfx-3 entire car

2x sealant - zaino z5 w/ z6 between

2x sealant - zaino z2 w/ z6 between

Please feel free to critique my process and privide any tips you can. Thanks!

firegate
09-04-2006, 08:06 PM
I`d skip the dawn wash and just use the megs soap for the initial step. Also, the swirls look to be kind of light, so you may not need SFX-2 for the entire car. I`d recommend starting off with the lightest polish and moving up as needed.

Accumulator
09-05-2006, 11:04 AM
EnhanceSS- Welcome to Autopia!

IMO your plan looks good, though I too am not too thrilled about the Dawn wash. I only do that on real beaters that I don`t want to waste decent shampoo on. See what it takes to correct your marring, as firegate says you only want to use as aggressive an approach as you really *have* to. Sometimes that *does* mean getting pretty aggressive, just depends on your paint and how deep the scratches really are.

One bit of advice- set aside a lot of time, as this stuff generally takes longer than people expect.

imported_Dave KG