PDA

View Full Version : Black 2005 Porsche 911

Pages : [1] 2

winders
07-31-2006, 06:39 PM
Folks,

I just picked a black 2005 911. The paint looks pretty good but I am sure it needs some clay work, a polish, a seal, and nice wax job. This is my first black car and I am a little apprehensive about the work required to keep it looking great. I am relatively ignorant about detailing but want have this car looking great without a huge amount of work. I realize that I will probably spend a full day getting the finish where it needs to be. I am hoping maintenance will be less intense.

What products can you folks recommend? I have heard good things about Zaino but there are quite a few different Zaino products. Which ones do I need or want? What should I use for application? For removal? For washing? For drying?

Any input is appreciated. Just remember that I am new to this level of finish care.

Thanks,

Scott

Bigpoppa3346
07-31-2006, 06:47 PM
Well if it needs polishing it would best be done by machine, and, IMO, a PC at the very minimum is a *must* have for and black car owners. Zaino has very well regarded products, but the finish(as with all LSPs) must be polished to perfection to get the best result. For washing and drying get a wool wash mit and a MF waffle weave towel for drying. Use the two bucket method to minimize marring. Do some searching and find what sounds best for you. Congrats on your sexy new car.

RAG
07-31-2006, 06:55 PM
Gosh, I don`t even know where to start. But make good use of the search function on this board and you`ll get a lot of good information. Look into proper washing (learn the technique and get good waffle weave towels, etc.), polishing with a Porter Cable (PC) and good sealant or wax.

jdhutchin
07-31-2006, 07:02 PM