PDA

View Full Version : Customer asks about products?

typeSR2
03-19-2005, 11:37 PM
For you professionals out there, do your customers ever ask what brand products you use? If so, what do you say to them? I was thinking about it, and I just thought it would be better not to tell so that they would not try to go out and buy the products themselves and use it. Just a thought, what do you guys think or say?

GregCavi
03-19-2005, 11:40 PM
IM no pro but i do some details for neighbors and freinds. Sometimes I will get the nosey neighbor that will walk over after seeing me work for a long time and i will get the old "what kind of wax are you using." I usually just tell them the brand. I do the same with any customers. If a customer asks I usually just tell them the brand.

Greg

audiboy
03-19-2005, 11:51 PM
ill tell them what they want to know and I`ll show them the bottle/container too. im not worried that I will lose too many customers this way. They are paying for a service that they are either unwilling to do or unable to replicate.

Woob
03-19-2005, 11:54 PM
Technique > Products. I`d like to see them buy it and do it as well. There is a reason why you are providing a service, they can`t do it! If they do, welcome them to DC :dcrules :D

scrub
03-19-2005, 11:58 PM
I don`t see a reason not to tell them. I feel its not just the products but the techniques and your passion that yields great results. Add to that the fact of how long it takes to apply the products for non detailer. They might try it once and realize they have better things to do with their time.

Plus you could take the time to teach your clients and show them your knowledge. You will become a car care expert in their eyes. This will also build value in your service once the client fully understands all the steps you do to their vehicle. If the client is educated he can then sell your services better to referrals too.