PDA

View Full Version : Menzerna FMJ not durable?

Pages : [1] 2 3

crew219
07-07-2006, 12:43 PM
This is my first time using the Menzerna products. Prior to menzerna, I used the 3m professional line with Blitz wax . . . then Klasse twins (old school high VOC stuff) + Blitz wax . . . and the Zaino line with Z2pro. Last detail was in October of 2005 with Zaino Z2 and the car was still beading / sheeting off water & paint still felt smooth up until I detailed 2 days ago.

Today . . . was grabbing lunch & a bird shat on the paint. Was inside for maybe 30-45 minutes and the car was parked in semi-shade . . . . came out, saw the poop and immediately grabbed the MF and bottle of detail spray from my trunk. Bird poop wiped off with some force (even after I let the detail spray sit for a few seconds) and there were nice fat etch marks.

Additional QD & wiping didn`t help.

Went home and washed the area with soap + baking soda, let the baking soda sit & then proceeded to use some FPII. FPII didn`t do a thing . . . . IP helped a bit, but I didn`t want to work the area too much.

Now I`m left with a nice splatter mark on the hood about 1.5 sq inches in diameter and am really not sure what to say about Menzerna FMJ. This is not my first time with sealants. I only used Menzerna products and distilled water during the polishing & application. Plenty of times a bird has crapped on my cars with Zaino, Klasse & just straight up wax but it has never ate through/etched like this.

Thoughts? Am I using a bad product? The Menzerna appears to be "fresh" as it has a production date of 3/06 marked on the bottle. Anything I can do to help remove the mark?

Extremely displeased with this product right now . . .

Dave

TigerMike
07-07-2006, 12:52 PM