PDA

View Full Version : What products to use for wash/wax type details

manmanSS
06-17-2006, 06:19 PM
Hey guys,

I am just starting out a small hobby based detail service, and I have had a lot of intrest in a simple wash and wax service, and I was wondering how to and what products to generally use. Thing is I am trying to establish a base, So I would like a little better result even if it takes a little more time and is more work than I am charging.

I was mainly confused in what to use as a polish/cleaner.

I was thinking for the relatively clean fininshes just use Megs Cleaner wax and then top with a pure carnuba.

But I was wondering what polish to use, that has good cleaning power and relatively quick and easy to use. I sampled megs #9 swirl remover and had good results. I dont think its the best for swirl removal, PB SSR2.5 is good for that, but the megs product was very easy to use and succesful in removing minor oxidization and bringing a deep finish. And then topping with a pure carnuba LSP.

I was thinking about Klasse AIO, but read that it brings out swirls, It`d be nice if I could find something to hide swirls.

What do you suggest, thanks guys

Scottwax
06-17-2006, 06:25 PM
Of what you listed, I`d go with #9. Works great by hand or machine, excellent look too. Not very aggressive though but more so than the other two you listed.

autobahn
06-18-2006, 12:47 AM
well, polishing adds a BIG step up from just "wash/wax" details. When you start polishing you`re flirting with "full details", sans interior.

Accumulator
06-18-2006, 10:25 AM
Not sure if it`d be cost-effective, but I`d recommend what I used on family/friend cars back when I was going a lot of freebies: Either Autoglym SRP or 1Z polish, topped with Collinite wax.