PDA

View Full Version : Am I crazy to even try?

Stuff
06-13-2006, 08:41 AM
http://my.st/burley/alex%20paint/DSCF0007%20(Medium).JPG

http://my.st/burley/alex%20paint/DSCF0018%20(Medium).JPG

http://my.st/burley/alex%20paint/DSCF0016%20(Medium).JPG

This is not my car but a buddies that really really needs some help. Im still pretty new to the detailing thing but getting the hang of it. As you can see in the first pic there are large white spots. Almost his whole trunk and hood are like this. What is that? Really bad fade? Clear coat gone?

The last pic is not of bird poop. That is some permenent mark. I have no idea what it is. Any ideas?

The strongest thing in my arsenal is SFX-1. Dont think thats going to cut it. So what should I do? Is it beyond the state of repair. Should I be useing a paint gun instead of a PC? He does not want it perfect just better. Thanks for any help guys.

imported_Grouse
06-13-2006, 09:19 AM
tag for my learning process.

imported_themightytimmah
06-13-2006, 10:25 AM
It looks like an oxidized single-stage finish. You might be amazed by the results that AIO or a good abrasive polish would produce on it. The spot on the front is just rusted, polish away the "trail" and sand, primer and touchup the spot and you should be good to go.

Heres some before and afters to give you an idea of what can be fixed (and this job was relatively easy, one pass with a rotary/optimum/cutting, finishing pass with a rotary/poorboys pro polish/finishing pad. Its very doable with a PC, just keep swapping pads in and out as they cake up with dead paint and soak the used ones in water and a little bit of soap before swapping them back on the machine.

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y228/themightytimmah/DSC00012.jpg

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y228/themightytimmah/DSC00019.jpg

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y228/themightytimmah/Miata-NXT.jpg

MrSelfDestruct
06-13-2006, 02:08 PM
Hard to tell really just based on those pics..