PDA

View Full Version : HELP - Question about paint swirls on a new car.

Floriental
06-06-2006, 01:35 AM
Hi,

I am a newbie with a question about swirls and "holograms" on a new vehicle. I just purchased the car less than a week ago. It was dark out when I picked it up, but I noticed what looked like some swirls but I wrote it off as excess wax (as you can see, I`m pretty clueless about paint care, having never given much notice to this sort of thing in the past)

I didn`t think anything more of it, just been enjoying my new ride. But I did a bit of research to find the correct products to use on this car and as I was reading about buffers, I read a bit more about the actual cause of the swirls, that they were actually damage to the clear coat caused by whoever prepped the car using a buffer improperly. Is this correct? Did I understand that right of is it a case of a little knowledge being dangerous? I took another look at the car in stronger light (the car is black, btw) and sure enough I can see tiny (and I do mean tiny) scratches all over the surface.

Is this something I should be upset about? Does this constitute actual damage to the paint job that warrants going back to the dealer or would that just be anal? Granted, I have no plans to show this vehicle or anything but it`s the principle of the thing, I shouldn`t be paying full price for something damaged. I would appreciate some input. Thanks in advance.

Ed Fisher
06-06-2006, 02:15 AM
Another Triple-D !! (Dealer Detail Disaster) :grrr

Well welcome to the hall of pain... You of course need to be concerned since those tiny scratches are gonna fill up with water, dirt and debris to widen up in time and worsen the problem.

EDIT :

I` d go kick the dealer for ruining my brand new baby but it` s all up to you. They may crap it further...

BTW, congrats for your new toy... :bigups

EMazda3S
06-06-2006, 02:34 AM