PDA

View Full Version : I`m lost...need help

Stuff
06-01-2006, 06:18 PM
http://my.st/burley/Hood(Medium).JPG

That after a couple of hours. Yes there are a lot of stone chips.

Here is what I did. I washed the whole car. Then "spot washed" just the hood with dawn to get off old wax. Clayed the hood. Then I started to get those swirls out. Started with SFX-2. Got some of the smaller light stuff out. Then went the SFX-1 and the orange pad. Helped more but big stuff still left. Then went SFX-2, SFX-3 Klasse AIO then one coat of Klasse SG which is curing right now will put more on in the morning.

This was all just an experiment. I do not have the time to do the whole car but had all this stuff sitting around wanting to use it. This is my first time so that why Im thinking it did not work out as I had wanted. Here are a few things Im lost on.

1. When I did SFX-1 it helped some with the bigger marks. Can I go over it again? Just dont want to take off too much clear coat.

2. Do I need to step up to a more abracive mix of stuff more than SFX-1?

3. My techneque might be wrong. I watched several videos and tried to mimic their movments. I started by putting one line around the pad. Then with the PC off spread it around a 2ish x2ish area. Then turn on to 2 and move around spread it out for 20secs or so. Then turn it up to 4.5 and go at it for a min. or so. Kind of hard to tell how long I was going time wise. I went In a nice pattern the same way you would cut the grass. Should I buff longer? Can you go too long? To take off the polish I would use a Sonus Der Wunder Buffing Towel. I found it was a bit hard to take it off. Maybe this means I used too much polish or did not work long enough.

4. All of my stuff is brand new. I did not wash any of it before doing this today. Would that have hurt by putting swirl marks back in that I had just taken out? I just washed all my MF stuff and it is drying right now.