PDA

View Full Version : My first PC experience - Bittersweet

BigFly10
05-11-2006, 08:26 AM
I tackled my sterling mist (silver) 2K2 Maxima a few days ago with my brand new PC 7424 and detailing products. I am new to Autopia and pretty much new to detailing in general, so my car was pretty swirled and scratched up from almost 5 years of neglect. As such, I went at with my PC, my orange LC 6" cutting pad, and my SSR 2.5.

Let`s start with the sweet. The SSR 2.5 did a phenomenal job of getting rid of the scratches and swirls. They are not totally gone, but after shining the light on the paint there is an obvious improvement from before to after. I was also ready to use SSR 1 to followup the 2.5, but upon close examination I don`t see any marring at all so I don`t think it`s necessary.

Now for the bitter. Please see attached pictures. I apologize for the quality of the pictures but in the first one that very light colored strip you see just under where the light is reflecting is paint primer. That`s right......the paint has been completely stripped off by the PC and SSR 2.5. The piece you are looking at is a small trim piece attached to my rear side marker. I am not sure if maybe it was a faulty paint job or what, but in any case the paint was completely removed. This is the only spot on the car that this happened. I did not anticipate this after reading here that it was pretty much impossible to wreck paint with a PC.

Also, in the second picture, you see my brand new orange LC pad is pretty much wrecked. The velcro backing is almost completely separated from the pad already and the velcro also does not stick very well to the backing plate anymore. Is this all I can expect to get for life from these pads?

Thoughts?

VroomVroom
05-11-2006, 08:53 AM