PDA

View Full Version : New vehicle, help me protect it!

redthorne
05-08-2006, 02:01 PM
Greetings! I have been surfing these forums for a few months as a `guest`, and now I am finally ready to pose my question to the group.

I just picked up a Subaru WRX Sportwagon, brand spankin new. Steel grey metallic color. Now I know Subaru paint is supposed to be thin, yada yada, but that isn`t my concern. I would like to use some products to help protect the longevity of the paint against UV, Bird poo, and acid rain. "Deep shine" is actually not my utmost concern.

On my other vehicle, a 1995 GrandAM, I have been using Liquid Glass to much sucess over the past few years. Because I wanted to immediately protect my new ride, I washed her up nice, and put a coat of LG on, just to get me by for a few weeks. (Pollen season and bird poo season is here). Some people say LG contains cleaners, some say it doesn`t. <shrug>

I know there are many people on this forum that don`t really like the LG product. I`m game to try a different combo, and I am pretty interested in the Klasse products. Based on a forum search, it seems to be commonly accepted that the Klasse glaze will not bond to Liquid Glass.

What I am concerned with in terms of the All-in-one is the fact that it is a mild polish? I do NOT want to use any abrasive products on my new paint. Remember, the `shine` is the least of my concerns. I will also not be claying the car.

What combo of products would you recommend that will leave a nice hard acrylic layer on the vehicle, that will help protect the paint against New England nasties? If you suggest the Klasse all-in-one followed by the glaze, could you tell me whether or not the aio is abrasive? Perhaps a non-abrasive product that the glaze will adhere to?

awahl63
05-08-2006, 02:17 PM
Greetings! I have been surfing these forums for a few months as a `guest`, and now I am finally ready to pose my question to the group.