PDA

View Full Version : AIO + EX-P or UPP

drck1000
03-16-2006, 07:15 PM
Hello all! First of all, please forgive any ill-advised (stupid) questions as I am a newbie to detailing. Prior to this, my idea of detailing was applying PermaPlate renewer for the paint and then tire dressing.

Anyways, I have a Mercury Metallic 2006 GS 300. I`ve had it for about 4 weeks and getting ready to detail the exterior for the first time this weekend. I would just like to get some feedback and learn from some of your experiences with these products individually and combinations of. In the past few weeks since getting the new car, I purchased a TON of different products with the intention of eventually trying them all and comparing for myself and coming up with my own personal "line-up" of preferred products.

For the wash, I have Meguiar NXT Tech wash and both the 1Z Perls and Exclusiv shampoos. I use the two bucket method with a Meguiar synthetic wool mitt. I also have a MF mitt from properautocare.com and have ordered two sheepskin mitts. I currently am drying with the Big Blue II towel after using the Absorber for years on my old car.

Here`s where I need the real input from your experiences. I have the following products.

Klasse AIO

1Z Metallic PolishWax

1Z Glanz Wax

Poorboys EX-P

Four Star UPP

Meguiar NXT Tech Wax (intend only to use it for our older van)

Menzerna Acylic Sealant Spray

I also have Klasse SG on it`s way, but don`t think it will arrive before this weekend.

For my first pass, I am planning on the following combination. AIO followed up by UPP. I plan to apply the AIO using Eagle One WWS and a MF pad and the UPP with a foam applicator pad. I do have enough MF pads to apply the UPP if the consensus is that is the better route to go.