PDA

View Full Version : how should I analyze the market for a high end detailing operation?

imported_thecarguy
03-01-2006, 12:20 PM
My goal is to have a high end detailing operation in my area. I am new to this so this is what I mean:

$250+ for extremely detailed deatiling

satisfaction guarantee

options like ozone treatment, paint restore

I saw some place in Ohio that keeps your car overnight for optimal conditions - something like that.

I am new to this so please be gentle on me.

Any ideas or insight on the following are MUCH appreciated! :

1- how to analyze whether this concept is sustainable in this area?

2- ideas for high end operation?

3- is a mobile operation more profitable?

Thanks for your help!

SamIam
03-01-2006, 02:06 PM
Where are you located? What are the demographics like?

imported_thecarguy
03-01-2006, 02:48 PM
I`m in the southeast US. City is medium, for the southeast, and there appears to be plenty of good detailers but I have yet to find a Concours-type level of service.

doged
03-01-2006, 04:42 PM
My goal is to have a high end detailing operation in my area. I am new to this so this is what I mean:

$250+ for extremely detailed deatiling

satisfaction guarantee

options like ozone treatment, paint restore

I saw some place in Ohio that keeps your car overnight for optimal conditions - something like that.

I am new to this so please be gentle on me.

Any ideas or insight on the following are MUCH appreciated! :

Thanks for your help!

Test marketing.

Build value / business plan

Yes and No. Weather, Real Estate value, location, EPA, traffic conditions, parking, start-up cost......

A large market defiantly is there for mobile detailing.

Scottwax
03-01-2006, 10:12 PM
What kind of cars do you typically see in your area? Mostly sedans and pickups? Or do you see a lot of European and other high end cars? How about Escalades?

If most of the people are working class, you probably won`t have too many interested in high end detail work.