PDA

View Full Version : Suggestion for Pads and Polishes

bunkeroo26
02-16-2006, 08:36 AM
Okay guys, I am VERY new to all of this.

Basically the last year I have been neglecting my 2003 honda civic BLACK. Well, I came into some quick money last weekend, and got the items to give my car a makeover. Well, after a quick wash (it really wasn`t adequate) and a quick hand wax I fell in love. I have even bought a PC and this is where I have come up short on ideas.

I am very amiss when it comes to polishes and waxes and using the PC. I really need a suggestion for some compounds that are not too aggressive, and maybe a good liquid wax, and glaze. I really dont know what I need... I just would like some suggestions. My paint is in decent condition with only a few areas that need polishing where car doors have hit my doors in parking lots. I dont think that I need to polish by PC yet, but if I should i`m more than willing to.

My parents vehicles are in worse condition paint wise, so a PC run with polish might be appropriate.

Also, I am looking into a Wet Dry Vac so that I can shampoo the carpets and then vacuum up the wetness. Would I be better off getting a portable shampooer? This is what I am looking at http://www.homedepot.com/prel80/HDUS/EN_US/diy_main/pg_diy.jsp?CNTTYPE=PROD_META&CNTKEY=Products_2%2fPower+Tools%2fWet-Dry+Vacs,+Dust+Collection%2fCorded+Wet-Dry+Vacs&BV_SessionID=@@@@1400001159.1140103086@@@@&BV_EngineID=ccedaddhddligedcgelceffdfgidgnk.0&MID=9876

It changes to blower so that I can blow out all the crevices.

Any suggestions please are helpful.

bunkeroo26
02-16-2006, 11:42 AM
any ideas

/bump

Sarcazmo
02-16-2006, 05:50 PM
I really like Poorboy`s polishes. I did my buddy`s black silverado with Poorboys 2.5 and a yellow excel pad. It did a great job.

As far as wax... Souveran seems to be the best wax for black, but it`s quite expensive. Most people (Myself included) really like Natty`s blue. Makes dark cars look great.

Scottwax
02-16-2006, 06:48 PM