PDA

View Full Version : AIO or SRP as base for EGP?

superstring
01-18-2006, 04:13 PM
I`m planning on using Autoglm`s EGP as my second to last step (gonna top with Souveran) on my black Subaru. I already own AIO and EGP, but no SRP (don`t ask!! :D) and I`m wondering if there`s any point in purchasing, and using, SRP (will it produce a better result?) or will AIO be just fine as a base for the EGP?

Thanks.

gkerr4
01-19-2006, 05:47 AM
I have no experience of AIO, but I do of SRP and the reason I haven`t bought AIO is because there were a number of British guys that did side-by-side tests on the two, and while they are very similar the verdict seemed to be that SRP was easier to use, had a more agressive cleaning function (i.e. it is VVmild abrasive where AIO is pure chemical cleaner) and if it was left on it`s own, then it had slightly better durability. For me, I look a lot for ease-of-use product, so i didn`t bother buying AIO.

Also - I`m not sure if the two products are made to work with each other - I mean I have used SRP and EGP a lot (my go-to for winter protection on my silver BMW 3series), but I`m not sure if you would get the same effect with AIO / EGP - not sure if there would be issues.

That said - have a go and see what happens

good luck.

Graham

Mad iX
01-19-2006, 08:50 PM
SRP works well but dusts a bit even when applied by hand. Works well on swirls, though.

If you don`t have to worry about polishing, then AIO will do fine. It`s got abrasives ime, but they`re so light they hardly do anything.

EGP will work fine over AIO. Just about anything does.

Accumulator
01-20-2006, 10:01 AM
Can`t help with the "EGP over AIO" as I`ve never tried it. But I`ll confirm that the abrasives in SRP are so mild as to be hardly there at all. I must use it very gently, but using the PC or Cyclo, I don`t even get it to remove swirls on my Jag`s soft lacquer :nixweiss