PDA

View Full Version : New car... terrible NJ weather...

Diesel917
01-15-2006, 01:41 PM
Hi everyone,

I`ve been trolling on here for quite a while but figured Id finally tap in and say whats up! Anyways, I just purchased a 2006 Lexus IS in Blue Onyx Pearl (Dark Blue)... Unfortunately, it seems like lately around North Jersey, it`s nice one day... wet the next. I hate seeing my dark colored car covered in water spots after every new rain but it makes no sense to me in washing it after work just so itll get rained on 24 hrs later :furious:

Sooooo... should I still wash my car once a week despite gloomy forecasts or should I simply wait for a dry spell?

Also, its about 20-something outside today... on a day like today, does it make sense to hand wash the car? I am deathly afraid of those waterless washes because Im no expert in taking car of my car and have a feeling that I would end up doing more harm than good... With temps like these do I have no other choice then but to go Touchless??? :think:

imported_Gears
01-15-2006, 02:22 PM
Wash when ever you can. That will lessen your chance of getting acid rain damage.

ntoddalbert
01-15-2006, 03:07 PM
Hey dont sweat it, looks like next week will have a few days above 40-45 so you should be able to get a wash in then.

Its better to wait till you can do it right rather than half a*sed and get swirls . The car wont fall apart from sitting dirty, at these temps nothing is happening, IE corrosion anyway. Its when the salt warms that you need to get rid of it. More people have damaged their paint rushing to get the salt off then waiting a few more days to do it right, I know I have been one of those people.

If you feel you just have to, bring it to a touchless if you have one nearby. They will all me packed this week.