PDA

View Full Version : New (to me) vehicle, how harcore do I go?

skadet
01-05-2006, 02:55 PM
Hi all,

2002 Volvo S60, black metallic color. I am new to the hardcore detailing thing, but am eager to learn. I have downloaded the e-book and read 80% of it so far.

Here is a question: How hardcore do I need to go on the paint? The dealership is a small-ish, high end Volvo/Lotus dealer, and the detailers seemed to do a decent job, but I am beginning to question my own judgement since I feel like I don`t know what a "Decent job" is anymore.

Should I go wash -> clay -> polish -> wax kind of thing? I do not mind investing a lot of money in the process.

Thank you for your help, you guys have some AMAZING results in the click and brag section! Very, very impressive.

A little blurry, but maybe you can see a little of the condition of the finish?

http://cedantxl.cedant.com/skadet/s60side.jpg

http://cedantxl.cedant.com/skadet/backqtr.jpg

Otravez
01-05-2006, 03:28 PM
:welcome to the forum!

I guess to answer your question I`d say that it really depends on how much time and effort you want to put into making your car beautiful. Black is the most difficult finish to keep perfect but it is also the most rewarding color (red being close second) when it is done correctly and up to `autopian` standards.

Three important things I can tell you is read, read, and read some more, then repeat. Remember there are no stupid questions, only stupid people who don`t use the search button. Last but not least, this http://autopia.org/forum/faq.php?faq=secret_decoder_ring#faq_detailing_term s will be your best friend for quite some time.

Have fun and good luck!

Accumulator
01-05-2006, 04:42 PM
sakadet- Welcome to Autopia!

You should be as hardcore as you *want* to be ;) That is, be as fanatical as is fun. You can drive yourself nuts with this stuff and take the fun right out of the whole car thing, especially with black.