PDA

View Full Version : QEW as Clay Lubricant?

manuels_madness
12-29-2005, 12:44 PM
Is it safe to use QEW as a Clay Lubricant? I was going to use regular car wash and water or diluted detailing spray. What do you guys recommend? Also any tips for claying would be great since this is my first time. Thanks in advanced.

imported_chpsk8
12-29-2005, 01:17 PM
Hmmmm... QEW seems slimey I mean slick enough to be a lube. If you have a decent car was solution you can use a highly concentrated solution of wash and water. Just put it in a spray bottle and use plenty of it!

Regular detail spray works good also (don`t dilute it). You just want to use enough of it to give the clay a slick surface to glide on.

Basics steps of clay is to wash the car first, then using liberal lube work in small areas and straight lines work the clay on the paint. Stop and knead the clay frequently.

Light pressure on the clay is best. Any more and you risk marring. You`ll feel the grit through the clay. The first couple times it`s freaky the way the clay grits and grinds along the paint. Just keep lubing and kneading. Work a small area, then clean and inspect it afterwards. Once you feel the paint go slick you`re done in that spot. I usually workt he clay, then run my hand over the spot to see how slick it is. It`s a pretty dirty wet job, dont` be afraid to get your hands into it. It`s the best way to gel with the paint. Claying is a very Zen function. Be the clay... be the clay.... :D

I have clayed using car wash solution and it works really well. I`ve also used QD with similar results. The nice thing about car wash solution is that it`s cheap and you can use liberal amounts of it.

Oh... and don`t drop the clay!!! In fact, the best bet is to take the bar and cut it in half or 1/4 size, that way you don`t contaminate the whole bar. Just use what you need. Once you get the hang of it you`ll be fine. :D

4830Deuce
12-29-2005, 03:34 PM