Post Thanks / Like

Question Need Advice: 2014 Durango Black cobwebbing

The vehicle has 18,000 miles, black, and has spider webbing marks in the finish. I have only a WEN 10" RO and it uses bonnets. I have never done detailing before, just very thorough cleaning. It was washed, clay barred, and a coat of good wax last week at the dealer. I know it was done because I helped do it. They use high quality products, Meguiars, and others. Living in Iowa the winters can be tough on vehicles. Should I wait until spring clean up to polish and wax, or should I waste this wax job, polish and wax to get through the winter. What do I need to do to remove the cobwebbing, and get the wet shine? What products should I buy, and do I need to get a polisher or can it be done by hand??

NorCal.. Avatar = Swan Lake, Hallstatt, Austria
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Need Advice: 2014 Durango Black cobwebbing

Stormtruck2 -
    Welcome to an incredible Forum !

Sounds like the Dealer did not really correct the paint, they just cleaned it up ran a claybar over it and waxed it, right ?

I know about your WEN machine, its big and makes a lot of noise.. The bonnets will never be able to do what you want to do unless you are very experienced and want to take that time and effort..

There are much better machines and products sold here, and other places that can get your paint work looking like I do them - a big, black, ,rolling MIRROR, going down the street...

None of this work will be easy to do by hand and I know from experiences how big a Durango is - inside and out -..

If they put something with durability like a Collenite product on your paintwork, it might go much longer than anything else...

What did they put on the truck for your wax ?

Your machine might be able to work if you could get a smaller backing plate that has velcro, so you can use regular foam pads like the ones sold here...