Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    "Luck" Residue of design tuscarora dave's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

review of the Somoniz Pops-A-Dent

My room mate ran his uninsured harley into my car some time back. This Easter my brother gave me a Simoniz Pops-A-Dent kit. I normally don`t mess around with as seen on TV kind of stuff. My scheduling got all messed up this week so I had some free time and decided to give it a try and give a little review with photos.

Here`s the kit being reviewed.

I have never tried any PDR work before so the results are definately lacking.
    Here`s the dent I worked on.

I started by setting up a little work station so I didn`t have stuff rolling down the driveway and in to the road.

I layed out the contents of the kit on my little table and cleaned up the dented area to be worked on.

The dent is kind of 2 dents inside a big dent, where the bike hit the car the metal is scraped and it is also stretched. I do intend on replacing the door but was attempting to make it more tollerable for now. Here is a few pics of the scraped and stretched metal.

Ok all set to get started so the first thing was to plug in the hot melt glue gun and load the glue stick. The kit instructions say to allow the glue gun to preheat for approximately 5 minutes.

All heated up so here goes the first pull. The instructions say to be sure to fill the holes in the pull tab with the hot glue and to put a generous amount of glue on the face of the pull tab and then stick it on the dent and wait 3 to 5 minutes for the glue to cool down before pulling. The instructions say to not let the glue tab glued to the car for more than 8 minutes.

The instructions say after the glue cools for a few minutes to install the flex bridge device and simply screw the knob down until the glue releases from the paint.

Well it seems that just cleaning the area with APC isn`t sufficient as the first pull came off easily without pulling any part of the dent.