Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Scared of polishes and compounds

Well its time for another thread about this. I`ve learned a lot since last time, and instead of reviving the old dead thread, I figured I`d just start a new one. So I`ll just come out and say it, I`m scared of using polishes and compounds. I`m pretty much having to be self taught on all this, as I`m sure many of you were. And I`m having a bit of a tough time getting a handle on which compound to use, and when. And which polish to use, and when. I feel confident that I`ve got washing, clay-barring, and waxing down. But compounding and polishing still sorta scares me.

There are so many compounds and polishes on the market, that I`m still pretty overwhelmed. There is also the fact that I doubt that I could tell when to use a compound, instead of a polish. The way it was explained to me here on this site, was that compounds are your heavier stuff, and are getting into the area of 1,000-3000 grit sand paper. When it comes to their roughness. And polishes start where compounds leave off. Hopefully I have that part right at least.

So anyway, I`m afraid that I will use a polish or a compound, that is too heavy for the task at hand. I just can`t identify what polish, or compound needs to be used at a given time. This is made worse by the amount of products to choose from. And what happens when you use a product that is too much for what the finish needs? You`re going to damage the finish. Or are you?

By that same token, I don`t want to use one that is too light, and do a lot of work for nothing. How do you tell if its too light, or too heavy of a polish/compound? How do you make sure that what you`ve chosen to use, is just right for that particular car at that particular time? I don`t know that I`ll ever feel confident until I know exactly what I`m supposed to be using on a given vehicle.