Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Lighting opinion

I`m in the process of doing some work to my garage and have a few more lights to put up. Here`s a pic of one of the walls for reference:

I want some additional general lighting on the sides of the vehicles and my original idea was put a couple of 4` shop lights (I already have some more of those) on the walls towards the floor. Do you guys think that would be good, or would I be better off mounting the lights up farther towards the ceiling with them sort of angled towards the car?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Lighting opinion

I have no experience but I suggest mounting higher and angling down so you don`t loose valuable storage space. A higher mount should also give added safety. No one will lean on the bulbs.

However, I am Not sure which location is more effective.

Post Thanks / Like

I`m leaving that wall relatively clear of any storage either way. I want it to look clean and when I park my truck in the garage I have to put it close to that wall so we can fit both vehicles in

Post Thanks / Like

My grandfather had lights mounted at face level (about 4.5`-5`), at a 45* downward angle on the sides of his garage walls (he painted the occasional car in there). Back before I knew anything, I always found those lights extremely helpful when cleaning or waxing a car. And if you paint (or somehow otherwise) make the floor white, those lights will reflect up on to the rocker panel area of the car really nice.
    Don M

Proud owner of a 2017
    SUPERCHARGED
    Hyper-Blue Metallic 2LT 6/Manual
    Camaro

Post Thanks / Like

What type of lights? I have fluorescents on the walls, just high enough that I won`t bump them with anything or get them (too) wet all the time. No good for spotting marring, but good for general illumination.

Post Thanks / Like

They`re just regular twin tube fluorescent 4ft. Shop lights with covers. General illumination is the goal. I`ve got a l.e.d. stand light that I correct with