Post Thanks / Like

How can I fix my application of CQuartz UK?

Hi Folks. I did a swirl correction and polish of my black car over the holiday weekend, and finished off with two coats of CQuartz UK. This is my first time using the product and the outcome wasn`t great. I did the application in my garage, and the lighting isn`t bright. Consequently I wasn`t able to tell that I hadn`t fully buffed out various areas of the coating until I got it into the sunlight the next day. By then it was too late to fix it. It`s not really bad, just various areas that needed additional buffing and are plainly visible in natural light.

So is there any way to fix this?

My assumption is that I`ll have to strip the coating off in any problem areas and re-apply. Is this correct? If that is the case what would be a good product to use for this? I used Menzerna polishes on my car because that is what I already had, and they have worked great for me for years. But their oily residue was way too hard to clean off completely in preparation for applying CQuartz, so I`d prefer to use something else that doesn`t require as much meticulous clean up if possible. Any suggestions?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: How can I fix my application of CQuartz UK?

Just do a light polish with M205 to level the areas that appear hazy/streaky, quick wipe with eraser, and then reapply coating.

OR pickup some new Essence, polish the car and coat on top.

Retired Professional Detailer
    Likes Jsmooth, HobbesA5, The Driver liked this post

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks Zach. I was unaware of the Essence, but I think I`ll give it a try since it appears to be designed to play very nicely with the Cquartz. Of course, nobody has any in stock right now, so it will take a couple of weeks for me to get it.
    Likes zmcgovern45 liked this post

Post Thanks / Like