Post Thanks / Like

What`s with black paint?

Newbie here. Camry 2012 Black paint.

What`s with all the posts that I have read in regards to black paint being soft? I assume we are talking about the clear coat actually? Is clear applied over a base coat softer than clear applied over other colors?

I don`t get it. Does decontam and polish products and techniques change because one has black paint?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: What`s with black paint?

Quote Originally Posted by Carl333 View Post

What`s with all the posts that I have read in regards to black paint being soft? I assume we are talking about the clear coat actually? Is clear applied over a base coat softer than clear applied over other colors?

I don`t get it. Does decontam and polish products and techniques change because one has black paint?
    Yes, it`s the clear coat that gets swirled up. Black paint has nothing to do with it. Dark colors are just more noticable

You must have just purchased a black car?

Post Thanks / Like

not all black paint is soft. my harley is painted in vivid black and is extremely soft. it corrects easily but also scratches easily. my son`s metallic black dodge pick up has very hard paint and is just the opposite. i think the real problem is that black makes any defects or dirt really stand out more so than say, silver which hides defects and even dirt very well. i adjust my techniques for any hard vs. soft paint regardless of color. least aggressive method first.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Trouble View Post
    Yes, it`s the clear coat that gets swirled up. Black paint has nothing to do with it. Dark colors are just more noticable

You must have just purchased a black car?

yep!

Post Thanks / Like