Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Air Compressor for Mobile Detailing


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Wash_Me

Wash_Me

    Registered User

  • Members
  • 341 posts
  • LocationBoise, Idaho

Posted 02 May 2004 - 08:10 AM

Has anyone had any problems running a air compressor off there generator?

#2 tpgsr

tpgsr

    Registered User

  • Members
  • 728 posts

Posted 02 May 2004 - 08:25 AM

I just fill mine before heading out, i push it up to 140#'s, and run it at 80#'s it lasts most of the day without having to run. (people hate the noise it makes) I am working out plans for a very very custom detailing truck that will have a pretty sound proof setup with the compressor, and if i need a generator (havent needed it yet :) )

What you need to check is the operating amps of the compressor and available amps of the generator (also knowing that you are going to be running more than one thing at a time, add up all the amps!) Then check avail wattage, that is the ammount of electricity needed, if the total of the equipment is less than the generator puts out, you are fine :) hope this helps, if you need a better explination or whatever just call or PM me (phone #'s are on my website on the high speed side under contact info)

Mike

#3 Intel486

Intel486

    Registered User

  • Members
  • 2,964 posts

Posted 02 May 2004 - 09:32 AM

They're a plenty of detailers who do it as well as other workers that run compressors off generators. You just need to make sure the generator you have can handle the load of the compressor. I have a small, I believe, 3 gallon compressor I use.

I've used a Honda Generator before and they're awesome. One lazy pull on the string will start the thing up. Can't wait till I can afford to get one.
2005 F-150 Reg Cab Flareside 5.4L
Chemical Engineers: More refined than the rest.

#4 rookie

rookie

    Registered User

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 140 posts

Posted 05 August 2004 - 11:35 AM

Can't you just fill up a tank for the day so you don't even have to run the compressor? That way it won't make much noise?

#5 Intel486

Intel486

    Registered User

  • Members
  • 2,964 posts

Posted 05 August 2004 - 08:21 PM

Originally posted by rookie
Can't you just fill up a tank for the day so you don't even have to run the compressor? That way it won't make much noise?



You'd probably need a really big tank.

I use my air compressor to blow water out of trim and dry off rims, use it to clean air pads, and to blow polish/wax dust off the vehicle. I end up using a good bit of air.
2005 F-150 Reg Cab Flareside 5.4L
Chemical Engineers: More refined than the rest.

#6 narcissus

narcissus

    Registered User

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 07 August 2004 - 05:40 PM

Sounds like your generator may not be big enough to handle the amperage your air compressor pulls.

Check out the specs on both. Could be your problem.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users