• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 importpro24

importpro24

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 14 February 2010 - 12:24 AM

I am just getting started and i was wondering what the differences were between wax and a sealant and which would you recommend.

#2 Street5927

Street5927

• Members
  • 1,078 posts

Posted 14 February 2010 - 12:54 AM

I would use both for a little added protection. My favorite sealant is the BlackFire Wet Diamond. I then top this with wax, although there are going to be some disagreements to this method. You can do a search and get many answers. Here is a thread that addresses your question.

http://www.autopia.o...er-sealant.html
Ryan

#3 brwill2005

brwill2005

• Members
  • 2,021 posts

Posted 14 February 2010 - 06:08 AM

Keep it simple; a good sealant is all you need. Once you have applied a sealant, you can use a spray wax with every wash to enhance the protection and the shine.
Brad Will- Owner
Reflections Auto Salon LLC

#4 Devilsown

Devilsown

• Members
  • 543 posts

Posted 14 February 2010 - 06:20 AM

What are you looking for protection or looks. A wax will not last as long as a sealant, but a wax will add depth to your paint. Sealants tend to look better on light colored cars as wax's look amazing on dark cars. I use both it just depends on the time of year and the color of the car. Other factors I consider are:

Where is the car parked most of the time?
How often is it washed?
How often is is waxed/ sealed?

A more important thing to consider is your polish, a great polish job can make or break how a cars paint looks, no matter what wax or sealant you use. I would go for a PO106FA polish, or a optimum polish, then chose a wax or sealant that fits your needs. I personally like Optimum, 1z Glanz Wax, and Z2, Klasse AIO is a great sealants. As for Wax's Megs M16 is my fisrt wax I go to, I have others but that is my go to wax. Just remember POLISH is the base to a kick *** shine.