| Welcome to the Autopia.org. You are viewing as a guest. By joining our FREE community you will be able to interact with others. Plus, when you join you will receive instant coupon codes for special discounts with our sponsors. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!
|
05-18-07, 10:25
|
#1 (permalink)
| | Registered User
joerockt is offline
Join Date: Jul 2004 Location: Temecula, CA Posts: 84 | sportscarcare.com Scam? Hey guys, not sure where this could go, but anyway...
A few weeks ago, I got this email from the owner of the former sportscarcare.com. I purchased several items from him, made my paypal payment and now, two weeks later, I havent received any product.
I've made several attempts to contact via email, no response. I've started a dispute with paypal. I'm wondering, did anyone else receive this email? And if so, did you make a purchase and receive your product(s)?
I'm pretty sure this was a reputable site a few years ago. Has anyone ever been in contact with this Charles Green guy?
Here is the email in question: Quote:
After the closing of SportsCarCare.com, we are still left with a small inventory of Poorboy’s World and other items which we are selling at liquidation prices. As a thank-you for your past support, we are giving you the first opportunity to acquire these items at-, near- or below-cost.
Our remaining inventory is posted at Car Care Items if you would like to browse the selection. All items are new, unopened, and in original packaging.
Thank you for your prior patronage, and enjoy your 2007 motoring season!
-Charles Green
P.S. You are receiving this eMail because you have purchased Poorboy’s World products from SportsCarCare.com in the past. You will receive no further eMails.
| | |
| |
05-18-07, 10:46
|
#2 (permalink)
| | I don't have much to add
SpoiledMan is offline
Join Date: Mar 2004 Location: Southern Cali Posts: 6,664 | Re: sportscarcare.com Scam? I emailed and order and got a response that an item wasn't in stock. I changed the order and asked for a bill and never got a response. Hope it turns out better than it looks right now.
__________________
The Power of Dreams... Club FLEX Member
Black cars are fun! Yes, I *do* use grout sponges! | |
| |
05-19-07, 07:02
|
#3 (permalink)
| | Nuckin Futs
wytstang is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005 Location: Summerville, SC missing South Fl weather :*( Posts: 964 | Re: sportscarcare.com Scam? When his site (Sportscar) was up and running I had email contact with Charles Green and had a great experience with him. Resposes were fast and even sent a follow up email to make sure I was happy with my order and shipping. Having said that I emailed an order from that same link and never got a response (been 2 weeks). How it all works out.
__________________
"Racing is an addiction cured only by poverty"
| |
| |
05-21-07, 07:00
|
#4 (permalink)
| | Registered User
joerockt is offline
Join Date: Jul 2004 Location: Temecula, CA Posts: 84 | Re: sportscarcare.com Scam? Quote: |
Originally Posted by wytstang When his site (Sportscar) was up and running I had email contact with Charles Green and had a great experience with him. Resposes were fast and even sent a follow up email to make sure I was happy with my order and shipping. Having said that I emailed an order from that same link and never got a response (been 2 weeks). How it all works out. | Intresting. Seems I'm the only one so far that actually got an invoice and sent money. I guess if this was a scam he would have taken your money as well.
Glimmer of hope I guess. We'll see what paypal comes up with. | |
| |
05-23-07, 09:44
|
#5 (permalink)
| | Registered User
joerockt is offline
Join Date: Jul 2004 Location: Temecula, CA Posts: 84 | Re: sportscarcare.com Scam? Still no response to me or to Paypal regarding the claim. In the 10+ years of using the internet, I've never been scammed, so this is a first. Luckily it was only $60, but still...Hope paypal can recover, but their giving him 10 days to respond. Seems a little excessive... | |
| |
05-23-07, 09:49
|
#6 (permalink)
| | Registered User
Danase is offline
Join Date: Jan 2006 Location: Michigan Posts: 2,946 | Re: sportscarcare.com Scam? Yeah, it probably is best not to deal with a company who is going out of business most of the times. Paypal should be able to get your money back for you though.
__________________
Owner of Danase Detailing Supply
| |
| |
05-23-07, 09:51
|
#7 (permalink)
| | I love my Makita
kleraudio is offline
Join Date: May 2004 Location: Tampa, FL Posts: 1,460 | Re: sportscarcare.com Scam? Paypal will get your money back but they charge $25 dollars to do it. It sucks but its better than losing 60 I guess.
__________________
2004 Dodge Dakota SXT
Currently Wearing: Scottwax's Famous Pink Moose, JW AJT, JW AG
Mobil 1 Fully Synthetic Oil (What a difference!)
| |
| |
05-23-07, 10:48
|
#8 (permalink)
| | Registered User
joerockt is offline
Join Date: Jul 2004 Location: Temecula, CA Posts: 84 | Re: sportscarcare.com Scam? Quote: |
Originally Posted by Danase Yeah, it probably is best not to deal with a company who is going out of business most of the times. Paypal should be able to get your money back for you though. | Yup, lesson learned. I've ordered from them in the past, so I figured it was legit. Couldnt pass up some of the prices on the Zymol products. | |
| |
05-23-07, 10:50
|
#9 (permalink)
| | Registered User
joerockt is offline
Join Date: Jul 2004 Location: Temecula, CA Posts: 84 | Re: sportscarcare.com Scam? Quote: |
Originally Posted by kleraudio Paypal will get your money back but they charge $25 dollars to do it. It sucks but its better than losing 60 I guess. | Really? Funny they didnt mention that. But yea, its better then loosing all of it. Though you would think they would just charge the scammer instead.
So I assume you went through this process? Was it the same situation where the seller didnt respond to any emails? | |
| |
05-23-07, 11:41
|
#10 (permalink)
| | Registered User
joe.p is offline
Join Date: Jul 2006 Posts: 295 | Re: sportscarcare.com Scam? i know it sux to lose the $25..i'm with the others when saying its better then losing #60.00.... paypal will also suspend his Acct..have his Acct suspended to save others from the same aggrevation.. | |
| |
05-23-07, 12:42
|
#11 (permalink)
| | Registered User
DFTowel is offline
Join Date: Aug 2002 Location: LI, NY Posts: 1,043 | Re: sportscarcare.com Scam? Woah guys, slow down, the rumrs are flying so fast and furious I need a helmet!
Try emailing Charles again, he used to buy from me and I never had a problem, he was always a gentleman. I'm sure there is an explanation in there someplace, calling someone a scammer without proof or all the details is not very mature.
Also, several times I've had PayPal reimburse me for purchaes that never arrived and I was never charged $25, is this something new or another unfounded rumor? | |
| |
05-23-07, 03:06
|
#12 (permalink)
| | Registered User
jeff33702 is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007 Posts: 11 | Re: sportscarcare.com Scam? If your dealing through ebay, paypal offers much better protection. If not through ebay, they say that they will make attempts to recover your money... | |
| | |
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | | | | Thread Tools | | | | Display Modes | Rate This Thread | Linear Mode | |
Posting Rules
| You may not post new threads You may not post replies You may not post attachments You may not edit your posts HTML code is Off | | | | All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:01. | | | |