Welcome to Autopia.org.
You are viewing as a guest.
By joining our FREE community you will be able to interact with others. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today. When you join, this box is replaced with our live chat!
|
07-14-05, 06:15
|
#1 (permalink)
|
|
O RLY?
Porkanbeans is offline
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 397
Contact:
|
Is this too good to be true?
Recently I've been searching for a high-end digital camera, namely the Canon Digital Rebel XT. I see these in stores for about 1k, but after searching on Amazon.com, I've seen many below that price. In fact, I saw a brand new one for $500 here (scroll down a bit)
Should I think about buying from the dealer who has it for $500 or is it a scam waiting to happen? I haven't had any experience from Amazon, so any advice is appreciated. Thanks!
|
|
|
|
07-14-05, 10:02
|
#2 (permalink)
|
|
South Florida Style
themightytimmah is offline
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Boca Raton (FAU)
Posts: 3,357
|
I believe that you have fraud protection whenever you buy through Amazon's marketplace. The only risk is that it might have "fallen off the truck" if you know what I mean. If the possibility of it having been stolen (full trucks go missing from time to time, not quite ala fast and the furious, but it does happen) doesn't bother you, order it. Hell, I'm tempted at that price. But, I've been know to buy a few dubious items in my day, FWIW.
__________________
Once you buff black, you never go back
|
|
|
|
07-14-05, 10:18
|
#3 (permalink)
|
|
Registered User
Setec Astronomy is online now
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 9,880
|
I don't like Amazon...which started when I was looking for a VHS of an old movie....and instead of telling me it was out of print...they just fed me to an Amazon page that was selling used ones (through private parties, I guess). I was looking for a new one and they didn't say "that title is out of print, but click here to go to our "ebay" area"...they just sent me there, and...I didn't like it. I don't trust them anymore as far as I can throw them. Plus they bought CDNow and screwed it all up. /rant
__________________
Grumpy like Ketch...
"Well, it certainly does!"
|
|
|
|
07-15-05, 12:58
|
#4 (permalink)
|
|
Registered User
kpounds is offline
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 411
|
The $500 price seems very fishy to me. I would try the comparison shopping sites like pricegrabber.com and shopping.com to find a good deal. I did a search at both and shopping.com has it listed at Profeel, Butterfly Photo and Beach Camera for about $837. A purchase this big, I'd go with a quality retailer that I could return it easily if something wasn't right. Also purchase with a CC, and if anything weird comes up later, you can reverse the charges on your CC if they try to jack you around or won't honor agreements. That might sound harsh, but you do what's needed to protect your money.
|
|
|
|
07-15-05, 05:46
|
#5 (permalink)
|
|
Registered User
kpounds is offline
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 411
|
Sorry this thread got me interested, I just checked again at one of my favorite deal sites (fatwallet.com) and someone posted this. $649 at Butterfly Photo. Whichever I hope you get a good deal on your camera!
http://www.butterflyphoto.com/shop/p...spx?sku=REBELD
|
|
|
|
07-15-05, 01:00
|
#6 (permalink)
|
|
O RLY?
Porkanbeans is offline
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 397
Contact:
|
Thanks guys. Kpounds, thank you for doing that bit of research! Butterfly photo looks like a pretty legit site. I'll surely look into buying from them. I'm still mulling over wether or not to purchase this as my parents just bought a Pentax 5.0 megapixel point and shoot. I feel like it's poorly made and the pictures it takes aren't too stellar. Plus, I'd have to hunt it down every time I want to take pictures. For now I'm deciding if jumping to a camera like the XT is smart for me at this particular time.
Thanks again everyone!
|
|
|
|
07-15-05, 01:44
|
#7 (permalink)
|
|
DuraGloss User
AL-53 is offline
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Brimfield Ma
Posts: 1,461
|
I have the Rebel 300d which is 6.3 MP...that is the one shown on ButterFly photo link.
Very good camera..The one on Amazon may be a gray market camera..meaning it was meant for export and will not have a US warranty. That one is a 8 MP camera the next version up from the one on Butterfly photo..Its the newer model, which is the Rebel XT
Best bet is to contact the seller and ask if it has a US warranty..if so ..THATS A GREAT PRICE
Here is a site that will help you out..visit the forum also
http://www.dpreview.com/
If can be any help let me know
AL
__________________
2004 Ford Ranger FXII
Bright Red
My Pitbull rides shotgun
DuraGloss..More Shine..Less Money
|
|
|
|
07-15-05, 02:03
|
#8 (permalink)
|
|
Registered User
Ben Z. is offline
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ames, IA
Posts: 93
|
Nearly all the sites you see selling electronics for super cheap near NYC are crooked. There's a good chance it's grey market and there is a nearly 100% chance that they will call you up after you order trying to get you to buy various overpriced accesories. If you survive the constant harrasment and steadfastly refuse any extras, then they will usually cancel your order. Go with a place with a good reputation and enjoy your new camera!
__________________
'86 Porsche 951 garnet red metallic
|
|
|
|
07-15-05, 03:42
|
#9 (permalink)
|
|
Gifted Armature
Lexuslvr is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 67
|
I also have the Rebel Digital (not the XT) and have been told that the pictures are equivalent to 35mm. The newer version is only if you want SUPER high res pictures.
I don't know how true it is, just what I have been told!! 
__________________
2004 Lexus LS 430 Ultra Lux Crystal White/Ivory
2005 Lexus RX 330 AWD, NAV, ML, DVD Crystal White/Ivory
2005 Chevrolet Equinox LT, Laser Blue
|
|
|
|
07-16-05, 06:42
|
#10 (permalink)
|
|
Registered User
kpounds is offline
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 411
|
Porkanbeans, you might want to check out Butterfly Photo's rating at resellerratings.com Some seem to be happy with them, others not. The dissatisfieds mostly sound like cancelled orders, but I didn't read all the user reviews. Just a heads up.
|
|
|
|
07-16-05, 12:26
|
#11 (permalink)
|
|
Registered User
fryebaby is offline
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Middle Georgia
Posts: 137
|
When I was researching buying a digital camera I found the best prices in places I had never heard of. When I looked further into it they were from overseas with no warranty just like our brother Autopians are telling you. They also remove accessories from the box and try to sell them to you. I bought a Olympus C-450 from CDW who happpened to have a good price. They are a large company in Chicago. But the shady websites were all taking the batteries and remote out of the box and selling them to you for extra. If I had not done checking at Olympus's website I would have not known what came free with the camera. Good luck, Wes
|
|
|
|
07-16-05, 05:22
|
#12 (permalink)
|
|
GR8MR2
jfelbab is offline
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Milwaukee, WI - Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 1,241
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Lexuslvr
I also have the Rebel Digital (not the XT) and have been told that the pictures are equivalent to 35mm. The newer version is only if you want SUPER high res pictures.
I don't know how true it is, just what I have been told!! 
|
Not if you are speaking in term of resolution. Feature-wise they are pretty close but film is still far and away the highest resolution.
|
|
|
|
|
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
|
|
|
| Thread Tools |
|
|
| Display Modes |
Rate This Thread |
Linear Mode
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:25. |
|
|
|