Autopia.org - #1 auto detailing forum for car enthusiasts and professional detailers.
Autopia.org Articles, Editorial & Blogs for Car Detailing Enthusiasts Autopia Reviews: Auto Detailing Car Wax, Polish, Cleaner, Protectant Reviews Detailing Products & Supplies Catalog
Go Back   Autopia.org > THE CLUB HOUSE > Hot Tub


Welcome to Autopia.org.


You are viewing as a guest.  By joining our FREE community you will be able to interact with others.  Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today.   When you join, this box is replaced with our live chat!

Autopia Marketplace

Reply
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes

Old 01-01-08, 09:26   #1 (permalink)
AKA Bajapat
 
holland_patrick's Avatar
 
holland_patrick is offline
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: hartford ct
Posts: 1,471
CG reseller get's owned

I found this over at the subie forums...

Buyer beware - high end wax, Pittsburg area

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

There was a guy, just got outed on another board. Think of a car almost as quick off the line as a rexie, and a group of mods that clean up after themselves. Anyway the guy claimed to have a PhD in Chemical Engineering from Carnegie Mellon U and was charging ~$50 per ounce for his special personal recipe carnuba.

A pro detailer on that other site noted his stuff was about as good as Pinnacle Souveran but not as good as the best Zymol. And they noticed "recommend" is mis-spelled on his PhD. The website is down today, but you might visit http://pure-concours.com/ instead of the .net from which he ran his business. Caveat Emptor!!

http://pure-concours.com/
__________________
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Old 01-01-08, 09:29   #2 (permalink)
Professional slacker
 
littlemissGTO's Avatar
 
littlemissGTO is offline
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 277
Contact: Send a message via AIM to littlemissGTO Send a message via MSN to littlemissGTO Send a message via Yahoo to littlemissGTO
Re: CG reseller get's owned

From what I hear, more info will be added to the pure concours website in the near future. Keep an eye on the website.
__________________
http://i86.photobucket.com/albums/k1...DSC01881-1.jpg
2006 Pontiac GTO
No longer stock.
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Old 01-01-08, 09:36   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
wannafbody is offline
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,321
Re: CG reseller get's owned

I posted this info earlier today with links and Mr Bynon decided to remove it(probably for legal reasons). It seems as if he has banned the alledged scammer though.
__________________
2000 WS6 TA NBM
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Old 01-01-08, 09:46   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Setec Astronomy's Avatar
 
Setec Astronomy is offline
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 9,890
Re: CG reseller get's owned

Man, why is everybody so obsessed with this?
__________________
Grumpy like Ketch...
"Well, it certainly does!"
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Old 01-04-08, 07:06   #5 (permalink)
AKA Bajapat
 
holland_patrick's Avatar
 
holland_patrick is offline
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: hartford ct
Posts: 1,471
Re: CG reseller get's owned

the web site is updated
__________________
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Old 01-04-08, 07:19   #6 (permalink)
Senior Moderator
 
Pats300zx's Avatar
 
Pats300zx is offline
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Middletown, Delaware
Posts: 6,891
Contact: Send a message via ICQ to Pats300zx Send a message via AIM to Pats300zx
Social: View member's Facebook page
Re: CG reseller get's owned

This whole topic is getting od and has been beaten to death. Its one thing to make everyone aware so that no one else gets scammed but its another thing to constantly discuss it. I have seen it on EVERY detailing forum out there.
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Old 01-04-08, 07:27   #7 (permalink)
Rupert Pupkin
 
jdoria's Avatar
 
jdoria is offline
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 2,460
Re: CG reseller get's owned

The guy has marketing skills, but too big of a mouth.

90% of what you buy in any day in any retail store is hyped up with the same sales bullshhhiznit as this clown. He is just not "crafty" about it and its disgustingly blatant.

Funny, but these names just popped back up recently:
Antonio Waxer , TheFUZZ...
Yet another Chemical Guys reseller using somewhat unethical business practices to sell product.

How about the Whole Foods CEO? Anyone know his story as to why he was elected by Money.com as one of the worst CEO's in 2007? Same kind of crap. Going on to internet boards and pumping info about his company through an alias. His angle of course was greater, to build the stock on the NASDAQ, not sell $30 worth of car wax.
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Old 01-04-08, 04:40   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
mblgjr is offline
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 821
Re: CG reseller get's owned

Oh cry me a river.

Thats what CG's does...

BUT they DO allow the reseller to formulate/change the stock products to their liking and/or aid in the development of unique and individual formulations for the reseller as well. So technically it is possible for them to have their "own" products.
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Old 01-04-08, 04:51   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
wannafbody is offline
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,321
Re: CG reseller get's owned

I'm not sure this guy was a CG "reseller". He was listed as a JAXWAX reseller. Is reformulating an existing product and then reselling it illegal? He definitely was wrong to advertise himself as a PHD chemical engineer and is aledged to have broken PA law by doing so.
__________________
2000 WS6 TA NBM
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Old 01-04-08, 05:32   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
P1et is offline
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,608
Re: CG reseller get's owned

People are arguing the wax here.

They are pissed because he misrepresented himself in order to sell his wax. I'd be pissed too.

Maybe without the degree, he'll now have to sell it for $30!
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:47.


Copyright (c), 1999-2009, Autopia.org - All Rights Reserved

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65